You know you love to hear new Dilla tracks as much as I do. Recently, Delicious Vinyl  & The Yancey Boys (John “Illa J” Yancey and Frank Nitt) teamed up to drop a new project entitled  Sunset Blvd . The album features unheard Dilla beats and a parade of hip-hop favs stopping by to drop verses and hooks.

The first single is called Quicksand and features Common And Dezi Paige. Good work indeed. Looking forward to peeping the entire project. But for now feel free to stop by iTunes to cope the single / EP.

Here is what Delicious Vinyl has to say about the new project.

Delicious Vinyl brings you Sunset Blvd, the new album from Yancey Boys, the group piloted by John “Illa J” Yancey and Frank Nitt. The dynamic new collection is built around previously unheard tracks created by Illa J’s brother: the late, great J Dilla (James Yancey). With Frank Nitt’s standing as J Dilla Music Catalog Curator and the official approval of Yancey Media Group, all productions on Sunset Blvd originate from The Lost Scrolls — the stunning cache of beats Dilla left behind.

With its rapturous single “Quicksand” featuring Common, Sunset Blvd also teams Yancey Boys with De La Soul’s Posdnuos (“Beautiful”), The Pharcyde’s SlimKid3 (“Rock My World”), and T3 of Slum Village (“Jeep Volume”), making it clear that the Dilla legacy is being represented by those who knew and collaborated with Dilla in his lifetime. Additional guests on Sunset Blvd include DJs Rhettmatic, C-Minus, and JRocc (Beat Junkies) as well as rap roughneck Guilty Simpson and R&B strongman Eric Roberson. “We’ve created an album that would make Dilla proud,” says Frank Nitt, who grew up with Dilla in Detroit. “But this isn’t a nostalgia trip: Dilla’s beats were so future-forward that they’re right on time in 2013, and we’ve assembled the best artists possible to represent that.”



No more articles