The Gaslamp Killer releases his sophomore album Instrumentalepathy today! The new record is presented in a limited edition 2×10″ colored and black vinyl pressing along with CD’s, cassettes and digital formats. The new album serves as the first release on GLK’s new imprint Cuss Records and features Gonjasufi, Miguel Atwood-Ferguson, Shigeto, Mophono, Amir Yaghmai, Drumetrics, The Heliocentrics, Kid Moxie and Niki Randa.
Support for Instrumentalepathy has come in all over the map, with Rolling Stone, VICE, Pitchfork, The FADER, BBC, Bandcamp Daily and many others presenting exclusives before the album drop. GLK is playing in Oakland for the second consecutive night at the Fox Theater and will also be performing at the Hollywood Bowl this Saturday in celebration of his new Instrumentalepathy LP.
Check out a unique audio / visual experience of Instrumentalepathy at Whitestone:

Cuss Records Presents Instrumentalepathy

With many new roads traveled over the last few years, The Gaslamp Killer is back with the full-length LP Instrumentalepathy. Releasing on vinyl, CD and digital formats September 16th, GLK will initiate his new imprint Cuss Records with Instrumentalepathy.
A limited run of double 10″ pressings on black and colored prints in deluxe gatefold jackets will be available in an edition of 2,000. French surrealist artist Albane Simon designed the cover, supplying an array of psychedelic imagery that contains a brilliant sense of connection to GLK’s music and the chaos he’s survived.
Instrumentalepathy features an impressive cast of artists tied closely to GLK over his music career with Brainfeeder, Low End Theory and beyond. Guests include Gonjasufi, Miguel Atwood-Ferguson, Mophono, Amir Yaghmai, The Heliocentrics, Kid Moxie and Niki Randa. It’s been over a decade since GLK and Gonjasufi have collaborated on new music, bringing the two natives of San Diego back together for something truly special.
As many know, GLK used the triumphs of battling a near death experience three years ago when shaping his debut Cuss Records album. A handful of the tracks were even captured from his bed, unable to walk, with morphine running through his veins and staples in his body. A musical illumination that one could argue helped save his life and steered him towards the achievements he has accumulated with his live band The Gaslamp Killer Experience. Instrumentalepathy marks the catalyst point of an important road for GLK and the electronic community at large.
Instrumentalepathy, like his latest releases, continues down the rabbit hole of his debut full length Breakthrough (Brainfeeder) and the recent live record with his band The Gaslamp Killer Experience. Molding psychedelic ethos and heavy drum breaks with the traditional music language of his ancestors and the futuristic landscapes of modern electronica, GLK continues to push the boundaries of contemporary music.
Instrumentalepathy was recorded at GLK’s personal home studio among other locations and was mastered this year with Daddy Kev at the Cosmic Zoo.

Track Listing

– Pathetic Dreams (with Kid Moxie and Miguel Atwood-Ferguson)
– Good Morning (with Gonjasufi)
– Warm Wind (Frimpong) [with Amir Yaghmai]
– Residual Tingles
– The Butcher (with Mophono)
– Friendship (Interlude)
– Gammalaser Kill (with MRR and Malcolm Catto)
– Life Guard Tower #22 (with Miguel Atwood-Ferguson)
– Haleva (with Amir Yaghmai)
– Listen For My Whistle
– Shred You To Bits
– In The Dark (Part Two) [with The Heliocentrics] [Bonus]
The Gaslamp Killer
Cuss Records
September 16, 2016

GLK Tour Dates

Sep 15 Fox Theater Oakland, CA
Sep 16 Hollywood Bowl Los Angeles, CA
Nov 17 U Street Music Hall Washington, DC
Order the digital or physical versions of Instrumentalepathy:
Press photo credit: Theo Jemison |
No more articles